Making the announcement after a meetings of the BJP Parliamentary Board and the Central election Comimittee, party president Amit Shah said the decision to field 65-year-old Bedi was "unanimous". He said BJP will contest the polls for the 70-member Assembly under Bedi's leadership.

She will contest from Krishna Nagar seat in East Delhi, considered a BJP stronghold and a traditional party seat from where Harshvardhan had contested last time.

READ: Resentment stories exaggerated, BJP organised party: Kiran Bedi

The Parliamentary Board and CEC meetings were attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj among others.

"The BJP Parliamentary board has decided that Kiran Bedi will be BJP's Chief Ministeerial face in Delhi Assembly polls. As a police officer, she has won the confidence of people of Delhi and has been a known name against corruption and crime," Shah said.

"I am sure BJP under Kiran Bedi will fulfil the aspirations of people of Delhi. I am confident that Kiran Bedi's leadership will ensure victory for BJP in the upcoming Delhi elections," Shah said at a press conference after the meeting of the Parliamentary Board.

ALSO READ: BJP a sinking ship, says Arvind Kejriwal

BJP General Secretary and Union Minister J P Nadda announced the names of 62 candidates finalised by the CEC.

Prominent among those whose names have been declared include former Union Minister and Congress leader Krishna Tirath, who joined BJP earlier in the day. She will contest from Patel Nagar (SC) seat.

Former Delhi minister Jagdish Mukhi will be in fray from Janakpuri and former Delhi BJP chief Vijendra Gupta from Rohini seat.

READ MORE: Krishna Tirath joins BJP, takes Congress by surprise

Nadda said party's Delhi unit president Satish Upadhyay will not contest the polls as the elections will be contested under his stewardship and he has a lot of responsibility on him.

The party has taken care that all sections of society are given due representation. The party has renominated all its sitting MLAs and fielded over 20 youth and five women candidates. Against 12 SC seats, the party has fielded 13 dalit faces, Nadda said.

"I had already expressed my readiness to contest from any seat. The entire Delhi is close to my heart. We will develop a good Delhi," she said.

Asked about voices of dissent over Bedi spearheading the party's poll campaign in the national capital, Shah said there was no resentment and everone was working as one team to ensure BJP's victory.

READ: Delhi poll is like an exam, don't take it lightly: Amit Shah to party workers

"It's all exaggerated. I am an insider now. They (party workers) are very happy. They are very united. You can have a voice even in a family here and there. Party workers are happy, enthused and united," she said.

Meanwhile, soon after the announcement of party candidates at the BJP headquarters, a group of AAP activists staged a sit-in and indulged in slogan-shouting outside the BJP office late at night.

Latest News from India News Desk