Kumar, an Arjuna awardee and star of Indian athletics in the 1960s and the 1970s, had joined the party recently. Kumar had participated in hammer and discus throws events and, won gold in discus throwing in the 1966 and 1970 Asian Games.

The Arvind-Kejriwal-led AAP on Thursday announced the names of six candidates, including Kumar for the upcoming Delhi Assembly elections.

Apart from 'Bheem', the party has also fielded Rakhi Birla, a journalist with a television news channel, to contest the elections from Mangolpuri assembly constituency. Sunil Pokhariyal, a social activist, is AAP candidate from Palam, while Vikram Badhwar, who is leading a number of traders' associations like New Delhi Trader's Association and others, will contest from Chandni Chowk assembly constituency, the party said.

The Party has announced Lakshmi Narayan Sharma, earlier associated with Secretary of Labour Party of India, as its candidate from Gonda and Mohan Krishna Sharma from Badli.

AAP has announced a total of 53 candidates for 70 Delhi Assembly seats.


Latest News from State News Desk