The party released its fourth list of candidates for Delhi Assembly elections featuring six candidates.
Besides Walia, it announced the names of Raj Kumar Maggo, Dhuli Chand Lohia, Vishan Swaroop Agarwal, Zakir Khan and Satanpal Dayma who will fight from Moti Nagar, Tilak Nagar, Sangam Vihar, Babarpur and Karawal Nagar respectively.
The New Delhi seat was held by Sheila Dikshit for three terms before she suffered a shock defeat against Kejriwal in 2013 elections. Walia had been a minister in her government but faced defeat in the previous election.
Congress had on Thursday released a list of 15 candidates who included President Pranab Mukherjee's daughter Sharmishtha who will make her electoral debut in the city.

She will contest from prestigious Greater Kailash constituency in South Delhi where Congress was defeated by AAP's Sourav Bhardwaj in the assembly polls in 2013.
49-year-old Sarmishta, a Kathak dancer, has been participating in events and rallies of Delhi Congress for the last few months.
The party has fielded former MLAs Veer Singh Dhingan and Vipin Sharma from Seemapuri and Rohtas Nagar respectively. A number of new faces also figured in the party's third list which took the total number of candidates announced so far to 64 for polls to 70-member assembly.
Another former MLA Malaram Gangwal will contest from Madipur and C P Mittal will take the electoral plunge from Hari Nagar. Madan Mohan has been fielded from Palam while Brahm Yadav has been nominated from Rajinder Nagar seat.
Former Transport Minister Ramakant Goswami, a Sheila Dikshit loyalist, had represented the Rajinder Nagar seat and faced defeat in the last assembly polls.
Praveen Kumar Bhugra has been nominated from Narela seat while another young face Mukesh Goel has been fielded from Adarsh Nagar. Jagdish Yadav has been made the Rithala candidate while former MLA Rajesh Lilothia will contest from Patel Nagar.
Anil Kumar has been nominated from Patparganj and Bansi Lal from Krishna Nagar while Rinku has been fielded from Gokalpur.

Latest News from States News Desk