New Delhi: A Delhi-based journalist Siddhartha Sarma's’s novel "Grasshopper's Run", which describes the bonhomie between a Naga boy and his Assamese friend in the backdrop of World War II, is among 19 works selected for Sahitya Akademi's Bal Sahitya Puraskar this year.
Seven books of poetry, six novels and five short stories are among those selected for the awards while five writers have been named for their contribution to children's literature.
The awards were recommended by jury members representing 24 Indian languages and approved by the executive board of the Sahitya Akademi.
"I am happy that the Akademi selected my novel for the award. The novel deals with what used to be a very deep and enduring bond between the Naga and the Assamese people, and I hope the award will highlight this history and the rest of the northeast as well for readers elsewhere in the country,"  Sarma, who hails from Assam, said.
The awards in the form of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque and a cheque of Rs 50,000 will be presented at a special function to be held in November.
The winners in the poetry section are Gh. Nabi Aatash (Kashmiri),Snehalata Rai (Nepali), Darshan Singh Asht (Punjabi), Abhiraja Rajendra Mishra (Sanskrit), Nuhum Hembram (Santali), ML Thangappa (Tamil) and Aadil Aseer Dehlavi (Urdu).

Those who have won the awards for their collection of short stories are Maheswar Narzary (Bodo), Mayanath Jha (Maithili), Dileep Prabhavalkar (Marathi), Harish B Sharma (Rajasthani) and M Bhoopal Reddy (Telugu).
Besides Sarma, the other winning novelists are Bandita Phukan (Assamese),Hundraj Balwani (Sindhi),N Dsouza (Kannada), Gajanan Jog (Konkani), and K Pappootty (Malayalam).

K Shantibala Devi (Manipur) has been awarded for her book of folk tales and plays.
Sailen Ghosh (Bengali),Shyam Dutt Parag (Dogri),late Ramesh Parekh (Gujarati), Harikrishan Devsare (Hindi) and Maheswar Mohanty (Oriya) have been honoured for their total contribution to children's literature.
The executive board declared the awards on the basis of unanimous selections made by the jurors or selection made on the basis of majority vote.
The awards relate to books first published between January 1, 2005 and December 31, 2009.