New Delhi: Despite facing protest from within the state unit of the Congress, the Delhi government on Monday gave its nod to divide the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) into three parts.

After the division, North, South and West Delhi would have separate municipal bodies, though the number of wards will remain unchanged at 272.

Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit has formed a four-member committee comprising finance secretary DM Spolia, principal secretary to the Chief Minister MM Kutty, law secretary SP Garg and RK Srivastava, urban development secretary to draft the Amendment Bill to enact the division of the civic body.

Shiela Dikshit was facing opposition from state Congress leaders including state president JP Agrawal over the division. However, all protests died down once Congress president Sonia Gandhi backed Shiela Dikshit on the issue during their meeting last week.

"The cabinet has taken the decision to ensure smooth functioning of the MCD,” Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit said after the cabinet meeting.

 “Before finalising the decision to split the civic body, we had consulted Sonia Gandhi and several other top party leaders.”

Under the new set-up it has been decided to reserve 50 percent of the total seats in MCD for women.

The Chief Minister informed that after getting the report of the committee within 3-4 days, the government would send a proposal to the Home Ministry to approve the trifurcation of MCD.
After the ministry nod, an amendment Bill would be tabled in the Delhi Assembly during the Monsoon Session.