A total of 2,000 electronic voting machines (EVM) have been under guard since balloting took place April 10. A total of 150 candidates, including 57 independents, contested the seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi. An estimated 10,000 officials will be involved in the counting process.

Out of 12.7 million electorate, 8.2 million voted in Delhi. According to official sources, the paramilitary staff will be deployed inside the counting centers while Delhi Police will keep a watch outside.

The counting of votes will begin at 8 am.

The counting centers are located at Aryabhatt Polytechnic at Ashok Vihar, ITI at Nand Nagari, the Commonwealth Games Village in East Delhi, NP Bengali Girls Senior Secondary School at Gole Market, Delhi Technological University at Bawana, Integrated Institute of Technology at Dwarka and Jijabai Industrial Training Institute for Women at Gulmohar Park.

According to another official, no one would be allowed to enter the counting centre with telephone or any electronic gadget. A dedicated room has been prepared for the media at the counting centers.


Latest News from State News Desk