“We have received the reply from the Congress on the 18 issues raised by AAP on Saturday. The party's Political Affairs Committee (PAC) will meet on Tuesday and decide the next course of action,” said AAP spokesperson and MLA from Patparganj Manish Sisodia.

In the reply to AAP, AICC General Secretary in-charge for Delhi Shakeel Ahmed said the party is ready to give its support on full statehood for Delhi and a stronger Lokayukta.
In the letter addressed to Kejriwal, Ahmed has also clarified that Congress "never mentioned about unconditional support" to AAP to form a government.
"In your letter, you have repeatedly talked about unconditional support but our letter did not mention about unconditional support even once. We have talked about giving outside support, which means we will not participate in the government or in the Cabinet," Ahmed said.

READ MORE: Congress replies to Kejriwal’s letter, puts ball back in AAP court
Explaining the rationale for extending support to AAP, Ahmed said in the letter, "this is true that we offered support to you without your seeking it. The reason for it is that we want that the people of Delhi get an elected government and they do not have to carry additional burden."
AAP had on Saturday put the onus on the Congress and the BJP for taking their support to form a government by putting forth 18 conditions and wanting to know their views on them, a move seen as an attempt to rebut criticism that it was shying away from taking responsibility.

The Aam Aadmi Party, which has made promises of free water and slashed power rates, is aware that running a minority government or depending upon the Congress for support is a fraught task.


Meanwhile, Lieutenant Governor Najeeb Jung has recommended the imposition of President's rule in Delhi in the absence of any party staking claim to form a government.

Imposition of Central rule was one of the options listed by Jang in his report submitted to the President after his wide ranging consultations with BJP, the single largest party, followed by the Aam Aadmi Party, official sources said.
In a House of 70, BJP(31) and its ally Akali Dal(1) together have 32 seats, four short of majority while AAP has 28 seats. Congress won eight seats.


Latest News from India News Desk