New Delhi: The slugfest over appointment of new CBI Director has started among the senior most IPS officers with Delhi Police Commissioner Niraj Kumar approaching the Central Administrative Tribunal (CAT) over the non-inclusion of his name in the final list.

Niraj Kumar moved the CAT challenging the list of three officers selected for CBI chief. The CAT will hear the issue on November 23. The entire move may affect the selection process for CBI Director. The ongoing Director AP Singh’s tenure ends on November 30.

As per the Supreme Court directions, the six member committee led by CVC selects three officers for the post of CBI Director. The committee comprises Home Secretary, Personnel Secretary, incumbent CBI Director and the two other CVCs. 

Initially, the committee had made list of six officers of 1974 and 1977 batch for the post of CBI chief. The list included the names of ITBP Director Ranjit Kumar Sinha, NIA DG SC Sinha, Uttar Pradesh Home Guard (DG) Atul, CBI Special Director VK Gupta, Odisha DGP Prakash Mishra and Delhi Police Commissioner Niraj Kumar.    

But VK Gupta, Prakash Mishra and Niraj Kumar failed to make into the panel for CBI Director. Out of three, one officer is appointed as the CBI Director by the Cabinet Committee on Appointments led by Prime Minister.  

Miffed over the non-inclusion of his name in the panel for appointment of CBI Director, Niraj Kumar appealed the CAT asking the tribunal that why he has not been included in the final list?  

JPN/Niloo Ranjan

Latest News from India News Desk