The debutant Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) was on the lead in 24 seats, while the ruling Congress was trailing behind as it led in nine seats.

AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal was leading by over 4,000 votes in the New Delhi constituency from where three-time Chief Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit is contesting

Counting of votes for the closely watched Delhi Assembly election, considered significant ahead of the Lok Sabha polls next year, began at 8am amid tight security.

The polling had taken place on December 4.


Latest News from India News Desk