In a spectacular comeback to power, AAP on Tuesday swept 67 seats, obliterating Congress and virtually wiping out Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which got the remaining 3 seats.

According to Election Commission data, 130-year-old Congress put up a close fight in one of the four constituencies where it came second.
In Mustafabad, one of the three seats won by BJP, Congress' Hasan Ahmed lost to Jagdish Pradhan by a little over 6,000 votes.

In Badli seat, where Rahul Gandhi had held a massive rally hours ahead of his road show from Sadar Bazar to Chandni Chowk constituencies, the party's candidate Devender Yadav finished second with 37,419 votes, ahead of his BJP rival Rajesh Yadav. AAP's Ajesh Yadav won the seat with 72,795 votes.

In Mangolpuri, sitting AAP MLA Rakhi Birla reprised her victory with 60,534 votes while Congress' Raj Kumar Chauhan came second with 37,835 votes.

In Matia Mahal, five-time MLA Shoaib Iqbal fighting this time on a Congress ticket could not continue his winning streak as he lost to AAP's Asim Ahmed Khan.

While Khan amassed 47,584 votes, Iqbal came second with 21,488 votes ahead of BJP's Shakeel Anjum, a former AAP member, who got 9,105 votes.

On the other hand, AAP, which scripted political history on Tuesday, finishing on top on 67 seats, came third in only one of the remaining three seats.

AAP's Mohd Yunus came third in Mustafabad having bagged 49,791 while his Congress rival was in the second place.     

Among the 70 seats, Congress finished fourth in two seats -- Gokalpur and Najafgarh. While BSP finished third in Goklapur won by AAP, INLD finished second in Mustafabad.     

BJP, which was seeking a return to power in Delhi after 16 years, came in the second place in all remaining seats.     

The other two seats won by BJP are -- Rohini and Vishwas Nagar, where AAP finished second. Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) finished second one spot behind AAP in the Rajouri Garden seat.

SAD's Majinder Singh Sirsa with 44,880 votes gave a close fight to AAP's Jarnail Singh, who won the seat with 54,916 votes. Congress' A Meenakshi Chandela came third with 14,167 votes.

Latest News from State News Desk