According to a report by the Association of Democratic Reforms (ADR), in the 2013 Assembly, 18 MLAs fell in that 25-40 age group.
26-year-old Prakash Jarwal of Aam Aadmi Party, who won from the Deoli constituency, is the youngest legislator whereas Patel Nagar MLA Hazari Lal Chauhan (66) is the oldest.
AAP's Ritu Raj Govind (26), Rakhi Birla (27), and Sarita Singh (28) representing Kirari, Mangolpuri and Rohtas Nagar constituencies respectively, are among the younger candidates to have been elected to the Delhi House.

There are a total of 13 MLAs who fall in the bracket of 25-35 years followed by 28 MLAs in the 36-45 year age bracket. Only 2 MLAs fell in the 66-75 years age group whereas the report said that one MLA fell in the "unknown age" category, down from two in the previous election in 2013.
The percentage of MLAs aged between 25 and 50 is 70 this time as compared to 57 and 41 in 2013 and 2008, respectively. On the other hand, the percentage of MLAs aged in the 50-70 years group has fallen to 29 percent this time from around 40 percent in 2013 and 59 percent in 2008.

Latest News from State News Desk