Government had already taken the President's nod for introduction of the Bill in the Lower House after initially planning to table the Bill in Rajya Sabha. Since the separate statehood legislation is a Money Bill, it could not be tabled in Upper House.

The Government decided to go ahead with bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh notwithstanding the state assembly's rejection of the Telangana Bill. The Telangana issue continues to rock both Houses of Parliament and virtually no business was conducted in the extended Winter Session that began on February 5.

Even on Wednesday, Railway Minister Mallikarjun Kharge had to cut short his presentation of Rail Budget due to turmoil created by Seemandhra MPs. The Congress has already expelled six of its MPs for bringing no-confidence motion against the UPA government on the Telangana issue.

As per the plan, Telangana will comprise 10 districts while the rest of Andhra Pradesh would retain 13 districts. Hyderabad is to be the common capital for both states for a period not exceeding 10 year.


Latest News from India News Desk