Devotees worship the nine forms of Goddess Durga during Navratri. These nine avatars represent not only the secrets of nature but also carry a message for the human being. All the nine names of goddess are narrated in ‘Devi Kavacha’ of the ‘Chandipatha’ scripture.


Durga Puja festivities begin with great fervour

The Nine avatars of mother goddess durga that is worshipped during Navratri are:

  • Avatar Maa Shailputri
  • Avatar Maa Brahmacharini
  • Avatar Chandraghanta
  • Avatar Kushmanda
  • Skandamata Avatar
  • Avatar Kathyayini
  • Avatar Kalratri
  • Maha Gauri Avatar
  • Avatar Siddhidatri

Nine forms of Maa Durga:

Mata Shailputri – First Avatar of Durga:

Shailputri is the first form of Goddess Durga. She carries a trident and lotus in her hands. This form of Goddess Durga gives the message of protecting and conserving the nature.
It is believed that Shailputri was born as Sati, the daughter of Daksha, in her previous birth. She was devoted to Lord Shiva and expressed her desire to marry him.

Mata Brahmacharini – Second Avatar of Durga:
Brahmachaarini is the second form of Goddess Durga. This form represents the high values of a woman in the society.

According to myth, Parvati was brought up in a beautiful maiden. Once, sage Narada predicted Durga’s future, told her that she was Sati in her earlier birth. He told Durga that she is destined to marry Lord Shiva.
Mata Chandraghanta – Third form of Durga:

The third form of Goddess Durga is known as Chandraghanta. It is believed that all sins, distresses and sufferings are vanished with her grace. She carries weapons like sword, bow, mace and arrow in her 10 arms.

Mata Kushmanda – Fourth Durga:

The fourth avatar of Durga, also known as Kushmaandaa, represents the different faces of woman. She possesses the brilliance of Sun and dwells in the abode of Sun God. It is also said that the universe was created by her mild smile.

Skanda Mata – Fifth form of Durga:

Fifth aspect of the Mother Durga is known as ‘Skanda Mata’, the mother of Skanda or Lord Kartikeya. She is worshipped on the fifth day of Navaratri.

Mata Katyayani – Sixth Avatar of Goddess Durga:

Mata Katyayani is worshipped on the sixth day of Navratri. She was born because of a boon given to Katyayani rishi, as his daughter Kaatyaayani. This form depicts the equality between man and woman.

Mata Kalratri – The ruler of the dead:

Mata Kalaratri is worshipped on the Seventh day of Navratri.  She is dark and black like night; hence she is called as ‘Kalratri’. Goddess Kali rules death. She made Lord Shiva’s work easier. Her vehicle is the faithful donkey.

Mata Maha Gauri –The Holy Wives:

The eighth form is Mahagauri. This form represents the house wives, the home maker. In this form Goddess Durga show that no man can enjoy all the pleasures of life without his soulmate.
Goddess Siddhidatri – Ninth form of Maa Durga:

The ninth and last form is Mata Siddhidaatri. In this form, Goddess Durga says that not even a leaf can sway without my wish. I am universal. The vehicle of Mother Siddhidaatri is Lion.  

Devotees worship all forms of Maa Durga for their spiritual upliftment. Navratri's each night is dedicated to one form of Goddess Durga. Every ratri of the Navratri corresponds to worship of different forms of Maa Durga.


Latest News from Lifestyle News Desk