The state cabinet, presided over by Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, has decided to open all-women police stations in Dharamsala and Mandi on the lines of the state's first all-women police station set up in Shimla Aug 11, a government spokesperson told.

The police station is headed by an officer of the rank of deputy superintendent of police. It comprises an inspector as the station house officer, two sub-inspectors, six head constables and 10 constables. Two constables would be available during the night.

There is also a provision for women vehicle drivers in these police stations. But they are yet to be deployed. The cabinet also decided to set up a sub-committee for resource mobilisation and economic measures under the chairmanship of Health Minister Kaul Singh Thakur.

The other members of the committee are Transport Minister G.S. Bali and Industries Minister Mukesh Agnihotri.

Latest News from State News Desk