Sydney: India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni slammed the umpiring standard in Sunday's tri-series match against Australia, saying that the two debatable decision should have gone in India's favour.

Australian batsman David Hussey was not given out despite obstructing the field and Sachin Tendulkar was made to run-out by the Australian fielders.

"David (Hussey) was really lucky. He should have been given out. But it's not in my hands. In his judgement he might have been protecting himself but his hands were too far ahead of him," Dhoni said.

"Just like in soccer, if your hands are popping out, you get a penalty irrespective of what's happening. When we were touring in Pakistan, Inzy (Inzamam-ul-Haq) defended himself on his face with his bat and was given out.

"I don't know why he wasn't given out. There should be a hardline (by umpires). Umpires said even if it was an Indian batsman, I would have given him not out.

"There are lots of ifs and buts. Umpires are coming in for two or three games. I may have a view in one game, and a different umpire in the next match would have another. You could be at the receiving ends twice," Dhoni said.

As for Tendulkar, Dhoni simply believed it wasn't right on bowler Brett Lee's part to cross the pitch and then stand in the way of Tendulkar trying to make it to the striker's end.

"In Brisbane in the first game (against Australia last week) Vinay was bowling. We had a slip and no midwicket. The ball went to the point fielder. Vinay crossed over the pitch and coming towards midwicket in a brisk pace for the (point) fielder to have a shy at the stumps. Umpires said (to Vinay) you are not allowed to do that. But he was doing something which was well within the laws of the game.

"I don't think he can justify the fact that Lee was going towards the point fielder. I don't think he had a business to do it. And then he decided to stop right in front of Tendulkar which meant you have to take a longer way across him, leading to the run-out.

"I personally thought it was a bit unjustified for Tendulkar. He had to take that extra yards. Billy (Bowden) should have said something, he was in a position to see where exactly the bowler was and where he stopped because it was very difficult for Simon (Taufel) to take a call because he had no clue which angle the batsman was running and where Lee actually stopped."

Dhoni said Tendulkar indeed was disappointed "with the bowler standing in his way."

Dhoni saw no point in pressing and arguing with the umpire once a decision has been given.

"An umpire could think he was defending himself and that's why we are not giving him out. Once a decision is given, you can cry and cry and it's still in opposition's favour."