Hyderabad: Welcoming their disqualification from the membership of Andhra Pradesh Assembly, rebel Congress MLAs owing allegiance to YSR Congress said the results of Kadapa Lok Sabha and Pulivendula Assembly by-elections held in May 2011 would repeat in the ensuing by-polls as well.

Some of these MLAs G Srikanth Reddy, Chennakesava Reddy, M Sucharita, P Ramakrishna Reddy and K Srinivasulu met YSR Congress President Y S Jaganmohan Reddy at his residence here on Saturday morning and discussed their future strategy.

Later, they told reporters that they were prepared for disqualification on the day they voted against the Congress Government. "We decided to sacrifice our posts for the cause of farmers and stood by our commitment," they maintained.

They said they would now go to people of their respective constituencies and explain the circumstances that led to their disqualification.

Assembly Speaker Nadendla Manohar last night issued orders disqualifying 16 Congress MLAs under provisions of the Anti-Defection Law for violating the party whip and voting in favour of the no-confidence motion moved by TDP on December 5. The Speaker also accepted the resignation of Praja Rajyam Party MLA B Sobha Nagi Reddy as part of the disqualification process.

Speaking separately, former Minister Konda Surekha – the lone MLA to be disqualified from Telangana - said time has come for the people to "teach a lesson" to Congress that was "seeking to suppress the family of late CM Y S Rajasekhara Reddy, whose lone efforts helped the party retain power".

People would also teach a lesson to the Congress for betraying them on the Telangana statehood issue, Surekha said.

Meanwhile, APCC President Botsa Satyanarayana told newsmen his party would work with the aim of winning all the 17 seats where by-elections were necessitated.

"The bypolls for these 17 seats are likely to be held ahead of the election of President of India (in July)," he said.