The commuters will now be able to top-up their smart cards at the Automatic Fare Collection (AFC) which is installed at entry gate itself.

This auto top-up of Metro smart card facility will be available at 54 metro stations, which include all the stations of Line 5 (Inderlok-Mundka) and Line 6 (Central Secretariat - Badarpur), nine stations of Line 2 from Chattarpur to HUDA City Centre, five stations of Line 1 (Dilshad Garden, Shahdara, Welcome, Seelampur and Shastri Park), and eight stations of Line 3 and 4 (Karkarduma, Nirman Vihar, Lakshmi Nagar, Pragati Maidan, Barakhamba Road, RK Ashram Marg, Jhandewalan and Rajendra Place).

DMRC Executive Director Anuj Dayal said that the commuters will have to fill up a form, giving their assent to deduct a particular amount from their credit or debit cards. The form can be collected and submitted at seven metro stations, namely, Sikanderpur, Huda City Centre, Badarpur, Nehru Place, Govindpuri, Lajpat Nagar and Kailash Colony, he added.

After the form is submitted, the smart card will be registered for the auto top-up facility within a week. The passengers will be able to recharge their smart cards by simply reading the instructions on the display boards available at the AFC gates.

Following activation, the smart card will be automatically recharged with Rs 200. The amount will be deducted from the passenger's account and credited to Delhi Metro.

Last year DMRC had started the online recharge facility of smart cards. Presently, about 70 percent of the Metro commuters use smart cards.


Latest News from State News Desk