"To celebrate Independence Day, we have decided to play patriotic songs through passenger address system installed in all 3800 AC (red) and Non-AC low (green) floor buses on August 15. These songs will be played from early morning to midnight on that day. This is for the first time DTC will be doing such a thing," said a senior DTC official.
He also said that ten patriotic songs - "Aey vatan aey vatan humko teri kasam", "Ye desh hai veer jawano ka", "Jahan
dal dal pe sone ki chidiya karti hai basera", "Mera rang de
basanti chola", "Hai reet jahan ki preet" among others have been selected to be played in DTC buses.
"All bus depot managers have been given instructions to upload these ten songs on passenger address system," the official said.
Commuters travelling in corporation's standard-floor buses (yellow), however, will not be able to enjoy patriotic songs as these buses do not have passenger address system.
According to DTC, patriotic slogans are also being pasted on the back mirror of all buses to celebrate I-Day.
"Apart from play of patriotic songs, we have also decided to cover back mirror of the buses with patriotic slogans ("Mera Desh Mahan", "Bharat Mata ki Jai"). The installation work of these slogans on corporation's buses have started and all 3800 buses will have such slogans by Thursday," the official added.

Latest News from State News Desk