"The Vice Chancellor has appointed DS Rawat of Department of Chemistry as the Chief Election Officer, Chander Shekhar of Department of Persian as Chief Returning Officer and OSD of Examinations Satish Kumar as the Returning Officer for conduct of elections for 2014-15," Registrar Alka Sharma said in a statement here.

DUSU is the representative body of the students from most colleges and faculties. Apart from DUSU, which is an umbrella council, each college also has its own students union for which they hold separate elections.

"The VC has also appointed principals of colleges and heads of institutions affiliated to Delhi University as election officer for conduct of elections in their respective colleges and institutions," it said.

DUSU elections are expected to be held sometime in September wherein students of the university and constituent colleges will directly elect the members of the council.

Last year, the DUSU polls were swept by BJP-affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP).While ABVP candidate Raju Rawat was elected as the joint secretary, Aman Awana and Utkarsh Chaudhary were elected as president and vice-president respectively.

The Congress-backed National Students' Union of India (NSUI) managed to win only one seat with Karishma Thakur being elected as the secretary.

Latest News from State News Desk