The University Grants Commission (UGC) had recently written to all universities directing them to implement the scheme to allow students 'seamless mobility' across higher education institutions and bring in a uniform grading system.

"The DU Vice-Chancellor has constituted a seven-member committee to give its recommendations on the implementation of the choice-based credit system," Joint Registrar (Academics), Ram Dutt said.

The committee, which includes Dutt, will be headed by Sunil Sodhi, Principal of Maharaja Agrasen College. Other members of the panel are P Hemlatha Reddy, Principal of Sri Venketeswara College, Manoj Sinha, the Aryabhatta College Principal, Manoj Saxena of the Department of Economics at Deen Dayal Upadhyay College, AK Baghi from the Department of Chemistry at Dyal Singh College and Virender Bhardwaj of the Department of Hindi at Shivaji College.
"The committee will draft a discussion paper on key issues such as revision required in the curriculum, examination and assessment systems and ensuring of credit equivalence," said Dutt.
It will also deliberate upon the grading pattern, process of setting question papers, accountability of evaluators, credits for each subject or paper and guidelines for credit transfer, he added.
The panel is supposed to submit its report by next month following which the varsity's Executive Council and Academic Council will take a call on its recommendations and decide the final course of action.

As per the directive from Union HRD Minister Smriti Irani, the credit-based choice system will be implemented in the next academic session.
The system aims to provide 'cafeteria' type access to students under which they can not only study courses of their choice, but the credits earned by them can also be transferred. The system is expected to be of great value to them in the event of their seeking migration from one institution to another.