His appointment has been approved by Lieutenant Governor Najeeb Jung. He will succeed Dilip K Bandyopadhyay whose tenure ended on December 11 in 2013. Since then, Anup Singh Beniwal was the acting vice-chancellor of the university.

A leading scientist in the area of biotechnology, Prof Tyagi was selected from among three shortlisted candidates.

Prof Tyagi has thoroughly researched on the control and amelioration of tuberculosis.

For the past more than 15 years, Tyagi's group has focused on two broad areas development of new vaccines against tuberculosis and drug discovery programme for new potential drugs against tuberculosis.

The Tuberculosis Vaccine Clinical Trial Expert Group of the Department of Biotechnology, Government of India, has recommended three new vaccine regimens developed by Prof.

For his scientific contributions, he has been awarded the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award, the most prestigious scientific ward of India, Ranbaxy Research Award for medical sciences by Ranbaxy Science Foundation and P S Sarma Memorial Award by Society of Biological Chemists (India) among others.

He has been Vice President of the Society of Biological Chemists, India (2004-06).

He is a Fellow of National Academy of Sciences and Indian Academy of Sciences, Indian National Science Academy, India and a National JC Bose Fellow.


Latest News from State News Desk