The elections will be held on September 12. The date and venue for the counting of votes will be announced later, Registrar Alka Sharma said in a statement here.

The nomination papers for the office bearers of DUSU are to be submitted to the Office of the Chief Election Officer, DUSU elections 2014-15, latest by September 3.

Nomination papers for the membership of Central Council are to be obtained from concerned colleges/departments or institutions and are also to be submitted latest September 3.

The scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on the same day following which the list of duly nominated candidates will be published, the statement said, adding that candidates can withdraw their nominations till September 5.

The varsity had last week appointed a team of officials including Chief Election Officer, Chief Returning Officer and Returning Officer for facilitating the conduct of elections.

DUSU is the representative body of the students from most colleges and faculties. Apart from DUSU, which is an umbrella council, each college also has its own students union for which they hold separate elections.

Last year, the DUSU polls were swept by BJP-affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP). While ABVP candidate Raju Rawat was elected as the joint secretary, Aman Awana and Utkarsh Chaudhary were elected as president and vice-president respectively.

The Congress-backed National Students' Union of India (NSUI) managed to win only one seat with Karishma Thakur being elected as the secretary.

Latest News from State News Desk