Thiruvananthapuram: Noted physicist E C G Sudarshan and structural biologist Prof. M Vijayan have been selected for the 'Kerala Science Awards' for the years 2011 and 2012 respectively.
The award is instituted jointly by Department of Science and Technology and State Council for Science, Technology and Environment to honour scientists of Kerala origin working abroad.
The award would be distributed by Chief Minister Oommen Chandy at a function here on January 22, the organisers said.
Hailing from Kottayam district, Sudarshan, who specializes in quantam physics, worked at a number of foreign universities such as University of Texas, Austin, University of Rochester in New York and Harvard University.
He is known for his theories about quantum zero effect, optical coherence and predictions about 'tachyonic particles' that travel faster than light.
Prof. M Vijayan at Indian Institute of Science is known for his contributions in the fields of biological macromolecular crystallography. He is also a ‘Padma Shri' awardee and was also the president of Indian National Science Academy.


Latest News from State News Desk