New Delhi: Saikat Saha Roy bounced at the most crucial time as East Bengal prevailed over Salgaocar 5-4 in the finals of the undoubtedly in sudden death to lift the Super Cup on Tuesday.

After Irungbam Meitei's attempt hit the crosspiece, it was Roy's strike that helped East Bengal extract revenge of their loss to the same opponent in the final of the Federation Cup last month.

The match went into the tie-breaker after both teams failed to break the deadlock in regulation time. Edeh Chidi, Ryuji Seoka, Rocus Lamare and Rahul Kumar found the net for Salgaocar in the tie-breaker, while Tolgay Ozbey, Alan Gow, Robin Singh and Sanju Pradhan did the same for East Bengal to take the match into sudden death.

After registering today’s record win East Bengal became the first team to win the tournament on three occasions. Barring the miss by Meitei, the script remained pretty much the same in sudden death, as skipper Luciano Sabrosa, Meharajuddin Wadao, Francis Fernandes and Tomba Singh scored for the Goans, while Saha along with Sushant Mathew, Khangtang Paite, Nirmal Chetri and Uga Okpara struck for the winners.

 This was the third instance of a Super Cup match going into tie-breaker. East Bengal beat JCT in 1997, before losing to Mahindra United in 2003.