While the symbols are interesting, some of the parties in fray too have interesting names. Aap Aur Ham Party, National Tiger Party, Saathi Aur Aapka Faisla Party and National Road Map Party of India are some of the political outfits fielding candidates in the assembly polls.

Jitan Ram Manjhi's Hindustani Awaam Morcha (Secular) has been alloted telephone as its symbol. His party has been granted the symbol to contest all the 243 seats. Lok Awaj Dal, another party contesting the polls, has been alloted green chilli as its symbol. It has been alloted symbol for 50 seats.

Ice cream is another election symbol. It has been alloted to Aam Janata Party Rashtriya. Altogether 56 such parties have been alloted election symbols for their candidates to contest the five-phased polls beginning October 12.

According to Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968, symbols are either reserved or free. A reserved symbol is a symbol which is meant for a recognised political party for exclusive allotment to contesting candidates set up by that party. A free symbol, on the other hand, is a symbol other than that reserved for a recognised party.

According to the Commission, as on July 24, there are 1866 political parties which are registered with it. Out of these, 56 are recognised as registered national or state parties, while the rest are 'unrecognised, registered' parties.

Latest News  from Bihar News Desk