New Delhi: In view of local bodies elections in Bahraich district of Uttar Pradesh, the Election Commission Thursday rescheduled the bye-election to state legislative council from Bahraich Local Authorities' constituency to July 27.

It was earlier slated for July 9.

The Commission has also decided to hold bye-election to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council on July 20, following the vacancy created after resignation of sitting member and Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati.

While the poll from Bahraich will be held from 8 AM to 4 PM, the bye-election to the Legislative Council from among MLAs will be held between 9 AM to 4 PM and counting for the two bypolls will be held on July 30 at 8 AM and July 20 at 5 PM respectively.

The rescheduling of the earlier programme for the UP Legislative Council from Bahraich Local Authorities' constituency will enable the newly elected members of the local bodies to be included in the list of electoral roll of Bahraich Local Authority.

As per the revised programme, the necessary notification for both the bypolls will be issued on July 3 and the last date for filing nominations is July 10. After scrutiny the next day, the last date for withdrawal of candidatures for both polls is July 13.

The Model Code of Conduct will come into force with immediate effect in the districts where the polling will be held, the EC announced.


Latest News from Uttar Pradesh News Desk