Bhopal: The Madhya Pradesh State Election Commission on Monday issued notification for holding elections in 49 municipal bodies located in the scheduled areas of 16 districts, out of the total 50 districts in the state.

With this notification, the election code of conduct has come into force in these 16 districts, State Election Commissioner Ajit Raizada told reporters here.

The polls will be held in two phases-- on June 28 and June 30, he said.

Though these civic bodies poll were scheduled to be held in 2009 following the completion of the five-year term, it could not take place due to some court cases, he said.     However, the Madhya Pradesh High Court vacated the stay on September 22, 2011, and the Commission subsequently announced elections in the 49 urban bodies.

However, due to some technical issues, polls would not be held for the Khargone Municipal Council and also in Maheshwar, Mandleshwar and Bhikangaon civic bodies due to the bypoll in the Maheshwar assembly constituency, he added.

The counting for the first and second phases will take place on July 2 and July 4 respectively, he added.



Latest News from Madhya Pradesh News Desk