"Election Commission has declared re-polling in Akhakhu Polling Station No 2 and Naltoqa Polling Station No 25 in Zunheboto district and Ladaigarh Polling Station No 1 in Longleng district," Chief Electoral Officer Sentiyanger Imchen said here.

The re-poll will be conducted from 7 am to 4 pm on May 10 in the three polling stations, he said.

In Akhakhu polling station out of 719 voters, 709 cast their votes while in Naltoqa out of 1008 voters, 997 had exercised their franchise on April 9.

As many as 302 voters of Ladaigarh Polling Station No 1 could not cast their votes due to alleged forcible occupation of the designated polling station by Assam police.

The Eastern Nagaland Public Organisation (ENPO) had written to the Chief Secretary that it would not allow counting of votes throughout the four ENPO districts if the electorate of Ladaigarh Polling Station were not allowed to exercise their franchise.


Latest News from State News Desk