The full commission comprising Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath and Election Commissioners HS Brahma and Nasim Zaidi approved a notification under the Representation of the People Act listing the names of the members elected to the 16th Lok Sabha, said a statement issued by the poll panel.

"A copy of the notification was later submitted to the president by the full commission," the statement added.
The results for the 16th Lok Sabha were declared on Friday.

President dissolves 15th Lok Sabha

President Pranab Mukherjee on Sunday dissolved the 15th Lok Sabha with immediate effect, completing a formality before the constitution of the new House.

"The President accepted the advice of the Cabinet and signed the Order dissolving the 15th Lok Sabha in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by sub-clause (b) of Clause (2) Article 85 of the Constitution," Rashtrapati Bhavan Press Secretary Venu Rajamony said.

The outgoing Union Cabinet, in its last meeting on Saturday under Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, had advised the President to dissolve the 15th Lok Sabha with immediate effect.

After this, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kamal Nath had called upon the President and handed over a decision of Cabinet with the recommendation.

The BJP secured majority on its own in the elections for the 16th Lok Sabha by winning 282 seats where as Congress could bag only 44.

The Election Commission will now be submitting the list of newly elected members of the 16th Lok Sabha to the President.

The list containing the names of all 543 Members of Parliament will be handed over to the President by a three-member EC team headed by Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath.


Latest News from India News Desk