With Joshi's appointment, the Commission is in its full strength of ten members. Deepak Gupta is presently working as UPSC chairman.

Joshi is presently Chairman of Chhattisgarh Public Service Commission.

The tenure of Joshi will commence from the date he enters the office of member, UPSC, an order issued by Department of Personnel and Training said.

He is working as chairman of Chhattisgarh PSC from October 1, 2011. He was Chairman of Madhya Pradesh Public Service Commission from 2006 to September 2011.

As per rules, a UPSC member holds office for a fixed six-year term or till he attains 65 years of age.

Alka Sirohi, Prof David R Syiemlieh, Manbir Singh, Vice Admiral (Retd) D K Dewan, Vinay Mittal, P Kilemsungla, Chhatar Singh, Prof Hem Chandra Gupta and Arvind Saxena are other UPSC members.

Latest News from India News Desk