Ruling Shiromani Akali Dal candidate Ravinder Singh Brahmpura had filed his nomination papers for the seat two days back. Punjab's Chief Electoral Officer VK Singh said that the total number of candidates who had filed their nomination papers for the bypolls was ten including the eight who filed nominations today.
Besides the Independent candidates, Puran Singh representing Bahujan Samaj Party (Ambedkar) also filed the nomination papers today, Singh said.
The last date for filing of nominations ended today and after scrutiny on January 28, the last date for withdrawal of nominations is January 30. Counting for the February 13 election will be held on February 16.

Latest News from State News Desk