New Delhi: Eight new faces were inducted in the Union Council of Ministers on Monday evening.

Four Cabinet ministers and four Ministers of State were administered the oath of office and secrecy by President Pranab Mukherjee in the Durbar Hall of Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The new entrants of the Manmohan Singh-led Council of Ministers are- Sisram Ola, Oscar Fernandes, Girija Vyas, KS Rao, Manikrao Gavit, Santosh Chowdhury, JD Seelam and EMS Natchiappan.

Ola and Fernandes were ministers in the UPA-I but did not find a place in the UPA regime.

With the new inductions, the strength of the Council of Ministers will go up to 77.

The expansion-cum-reshuffle of the Council of Ministers has been necessitated by the exit of Ministers from DMK as well as resignation of Pawan Kumar Bansal, Ashwani Kumar, Ajay Maken and CP Joshi.


Latest News from India News Desk