Guwahati: The swearing-in ceremony on Friday of 18-member Cabinet of Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi will see eight new faces.

The 18-member Cabinet will include 12 ministers of Cabinet rank and four ministers of state with independent charge, official sources said.

New faces like Nilmani Sen Deka who defeated AGP president Chandramohan Patowary in the recent assembly polls will be seen during the ceremony.

While Deka has been rewarded with a Cabinet rank, Siddeque Ahmed, Ajit Singh, Basanta Das and Rajiv Lochan Pegu have been made ministers of state with independent charge.

Speaker and deputy speaker in the last assembly Tanka Bahdur Rai and Pranati Phukan respectively and former minister in the Hiteswar Saikia ministry Ardhendu Dey were the other new faces in the Cabinet.

The CM has retained Prithibi Majhi, Gautom Roy, Ajanta Neog, Akon Bora, Himanta Biswa Sarma, Khor Singh Engti, Nazrul Islam, Pradyut Bordoloi and Rockybul Hussain along with BPF representative Chandan Brahma.

Gogoi has dropped eight ministers of his earlier Cabinet, including senior minister and former caretaker Chief Minister Dr Bhumidhar Barman along with two former ministers Bodoland People Front (BPF) Pramila Rani Brahma and Rihon Daimary.

While senior ministers in the last Cabinet Pranab  Gogoi, Dinesh Prasad Goala and Gautam Bora were also not included, former ministers Bharat Chandra Narah and Nurjamal Sarkar lost the recent polls.

The Council of Ministers will be administered the oath of office and secrecy at the ITA Machkhowa Cultural Centre here this evening.

Gogoi was sworn in as Chief Minister for the third consecutive term by Governor J B Patnaik on May 18.