Mumbai: Eight Pakistan players, including former captain and Global 'All Star' forward Rehan Butt, have signed up for the USD 2 million prize money World Series Hockey (WSH) to be held in eight Indian cities from December 15 this year to January 22, 2012.

The seven others, including two other ex-skippers, are defender Zeeshan Ashraf, seasoned campaigner Mudassar Ali, Tariq Aziz, midfielder Adnan Maqsood, half back Waseem Ahmad, Pakistan's most capped player, drag-flicker Syed Imran Warsi and striker Shakeel Abbasi, said a media release from WSH.

Between them the Pakistanis have played over 1600 international matches.

"I am honoured to be a captain of one of the teams. World Series Hockey will see a face off between the best international and Indian players and I am proud to be a part of this prestigious and highly anticipated event" said Butt, who has been named as captain of one of the eight city-based franchise outfits.

The cash-rich league, a joint venture between the Indian Hockey Federation (IHF)