Chandigarh: The Punjab Government on Wednesday promoted eight IPS officers to the post of inspector general of police.

Three of them, Naresh Kumar, Ram Singh and S S Srivastava are posted in Punjab while rest are on central deputation.

IPS officers Parveen Kumar Sinha, B Chandra Shekhar, Amardeep Singh Rai, Nirja Varuvaru and Anita Punj, who were on central deputation have also been promoted as IGP, an official release said here.

Besides, Jatinder Jain another IPS officer has been posted as IGP/intelligence and counter intelligence, Bathinda.


Latest news from Punjab News Desk