New Delhi: In an extraordinary step, the Lok Sabha on Tuesday suspended eight Congress members from Telangana region for four days for repeatedly causing disruptions over separate statehood issue.

The action was taken against Ponnam Prabhakar, Madhu Yaskhi Goud, M Jagannath, K R G Reddy, G Viveknanda, Balram Naik, Sukender Reddy Gutha and S Rajaiah after Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pawan Kumar Bansal moved a motion seeking their suspension.

The motion was carried by a voice vote after Francisco Sardinha, who was in the Chair, warned them of action if they failed to go to their seats.

Moments after the House reassembled after two adjournments, the eight members stormed the well holding posters supporting a separate state and chanting slogans like "we want Telangana".

They staged a sit-in in the Well forcing half-an-hour adjournment of the House. As they continued to sit in even after the House reassembled, Sardinha adjourned the House for the day at 2.30 pm.

This is perhaps for the first time in several years that members of the ruling party have been suspended from either House of the Parliament. The action came soon after a meeting of the Congress top brass including Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Sonia Gandhi deliberated on the matter.

Congress in Andhra Pradesh has been badly divided on regional lines with members from Telangana region in the forefront of the demand for a separate state.

While TRS, agitating for the cause of a separate Telangana, as also TDP, have some members from Telangana, they were not seen in the House on Tuesday.

Earlier in the day, Leader of the House Pranab Mukherjee held parleys with Leader of the Opposition Sushma Swaraj and some other opposition leaders including Mulayam Singh Yadav (SP), Sharad Yadav (JD-U) and Gurudas Dasgupta (CPI).