New Delhi: The Election Commission on Wednesday allotted broadcast and telecast time to political parties for carrying out their election campaigns on Doordarshan and All India Radio for the upcoming assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Manipur and Goa.

The Commission has decided to extend the said scheme of equitable time sharing on electronic media through Prasar Bharati Corporation and the use of broadcast and telecast time will be available only to national parties and recognized state parties in the upcoming polls.

This facility will be available from Regional Kendras of the All India Radio and Doordarshan and in the headquarters of Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Manipur and Goa and relayed by other stations within the respective States.

The EC has said that a base time of 45 minutes will be given to each national party and recognized state party (recognized in the respective state) uniformly on the Regional Kendra of Doordarshan network and All India Radio network in the poll-bound states.

National and state parties will be treated on par for assembly elections and additional time to be allotted to parties has been decided on the basis of poll performance of parties in the last polls, the EC held.

No party will, however, be allocated more than 15 minutes in a single session of broadcast. The period of broadcast and telecast will be between the last dates of filing the nominations and will end two days before the date of poll in the poll-bound states.

There will, however, be no telecast or broadcast during the 48 hours preceding the close of polls as per specific provisions of the Representation of People Act, 1951.