January 13 is the last date of filing papers. The results will be announced on January 23 itself. Twelve members -- seven from BSP, three from ruling SP and two from the BJP-- are retiring on January 30.    

Those retiring include Leader of the House Ahmed Hasan (SP) and Leader of the Opposition Naseemuddin Siddiqui (BSP). The principal opposition BSP has 59 members while SP has 21 members in the 100-strong upper house of the UP legislature. BJP has seven, Congress two and RLD has one member in the House.

Latest News from State News Desk