The tenure of sitting Rajya Sabha member from Mizoram, Lalhming Liana of Opposition Mizo National Front (MNF), will end on July 18 while the term of incumbent Upper House Member from Arunachal Pradesh, Mukut Mithi, ended on May 26.

Last month the Congress returned to power in Arunachal Pradesh securing 42 seats in the sixty member assembly. In Mizoram, the Congress has 33 legislators in the 40-member assembly.

"Victory of Congress candidates in both the states is certain as the party has sufficient majority in the assemblies of the two states," political analyst Tapas Dey said.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Arunachal Pradesh has decided to field its candidate for the Rajya Sabha seat from the state.

The BJP won 11 seats in the 60-member Arunachal Pradesh assembly in the recent polls, while its ally People's Party of Arunachal has five legislators.

"In spite of knowing that we don't have sufficient representation in the Arunachal Pradesh assembly, we have decided to field our candidate for the Rajya Sabha seat. We will contest the election in the true spirit of democracy," newly elected BJP legislature party leader Tamiyo Taga said.

The notification issued by the Election Commission on Monday said the last date for filing nominations is June 9, scrutiny will be done the next day and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is June 12. Counting of votes in both the states would be taken up immediately after the polling on June 19.


Latest News from State News Desk