"India will play a five-match Test series in this country for the first time since 1959 with Trent Bridge, Lord's, The Ageas Bowl, Emirates Old Trafford and The Kia Oval all hosting Investec Test Matches," the England and Wales Cricket Board said in a statement.
Leicestershire, Derbyshire and Middlesex will host tour matches against India who last toured England in 2011 when they were defeated 0-4 in the Test Series and 0-3 in the ODI Series with the NatWest International T20 series drawn 1-1.
"This will be the first time England has hosted India in a five Test series in more than 50 years and the length of the series reflects the iconic status which contests between these two great cricketing nations now enjoy," ECB Chief Executive David Collier said.
"We anticipate significant demand for tickets both for the Investec Test series, and for the One-Day International series which will be the first encounter between these two countries in the 50-Over format since India's triumph in the final of the ICC Champions Trophy competition at Edgbaston earlier this year,” Collier said.
"We thank the BCCI for their support and also our international venues who between them helped bring a record number of spectators – more than 850,000 - to international cricket over the course of the season when India last toured here in 2011," he added.
The series will start with a three-day tour match against Leicestershire from June 26.
The Tests are scheduled from July 9 to August 19. The first Test will be played at Trent Bridge, while Lord's will host the second Test from July 17.
Ageas Bowl as a venue for the third Test (July 27-31) would be confirmed after a site inspection. The last two Tests will be played at Old Trafford and The Oval, from July 27 and August 7 respectively.
This will be followed by the ODI series from August 25 to September 5. The lone T20 is scheduled on September 7, which would mark the end of the long tour.
India's tour of England Schedule:
Tour match v Leicestershire - June 26-28, Leicester
Tour match v Derbyshire - July 1-3, Derby
1st Test - July 9-13, Trent Bridge
2nd Test - July 17-21, Lord's
3rd Test - July 27-31, Ageas Bowl
4th Test - August 7-11, Old Trafford
5th Test - August 15-19, The Oval
50-over match v Middlesex - August 22, The Oval
1st ODI - August 25, Bristol
2nd ODI - August 27, Sophia Gardens
3rd ODI - August 30, Trent Bridge
4th ODI - September 2, Edgbaston
5th ODI - September 5, Headingley
Only T20I - September 7, Edgbaston.


Latest News from Sports News Desk