Kuala Lumpur, (Agencies): M. Kayveas, who heads the Peoples Progressive Party (PPP), a constituent of the ruling coalition Barisan Nasional (BN), is among the ethnic Indians who are recipients of Malaysian honours.

Already a Datuk (a title conferred by the government), he received the Seri Mahakota Wilayah (SMW) award that carries the title of Datuk Seri.

Makkal Sakti Party (MSP) president Thanenthiran Ramankutty was another awardee. MSP has Malaysia's over 1.5 million Tamilians.

Sothinathan Asaipillai, federal territories education bureau secretary of the Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC), the country's largest Indian-based party and a key BN constituent, was conferred Datuk title on Wednesday.

The officials to be honoured include prime minister's special officer Ravindren Chelliah and Economic Planning Unit deputy director-general Himmat Singh.

Apart from government, the other outstanding ethnic Indians honoured were former national football player Santokh Singh and Prince Court Hospital specialist Kuljit Singh, according to reports.

Malaysia has 100,000 Sikhs.