Even Chief Minister Hemant Soren, though ahead in Barhait, is trailing in Dumka, where he is the sitting MLA.

The state's first chief minister and JVM(P) president Babulal Marandi is trailing by over 10,000 votes from Giridih. He, however, overcame initial hiccups at Dhanwar from where he is now leading by about 3000 votes.

Three-time CM and BJP heavyweight Arjun Munda is trailing by over 3,000 votes from Kharasawan.

Another Chief Minister Madhu Koda, who has been chargesheeted by CBI in coal block allocation scam, is trailing by about 12,000 votes from Majhgaon.

Hemant Soren's father and JMM chief Sibu Soren, who also served the state as Chief Minister thrice, is not contesting this time.

Latest News from Jharkhand News Desk