New Delhi: Voting for second and final phase of Gujarat assembly elections 2012 ended on Monday evening with millions casting their ballot at 23, 318 polling booths of the state. Elections in the second phase were held in 95 of the total of 182 constituencies.

The results of exit polls indicated that incumbent Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi will be sworn-in-as the CM of Gujarat for a third term.

A C-voter exit poll prediction has says a massive victory for the BJP. It has predicted 124 seats for the ruling party with 46 percent voteshare whereas 54 for the opposition Congress with a 38 percent voteshare. In Himachal Pradesh, C-Voter predicted 30 to 38 seats for the Congress, while the BJP is likely to get 27 to 35 seats in the 68-member Assembly.

Modi set for a hat-trick: Opinion polls
Is it heading for Rahul vs Modi in 2014?
Will Modi’s 3D campaign script success?
Modi’s persona dominates Guj polls
A tale of Modi’s inclusive growth

The Chanakya Exit poll has predicted larger win for Modi. Chanakya Exit poll states that Modi could end up winning as many as 140 seats. The Chanakya Group of Newspapers is Western India’s leading media house with 4 publications and 2 web portals.

But almost same poll predictions forecast a victory for Congress in Himachal Pradesh and return for former minister Virbhadra Singh, who is facing corruption charges, to power, though with narrow margin.

Headlines Today exit poll predicted that in Gujarat, the BJP is likely to get 118 seats, while the Congress may get 50 to 56 seats.

As far as other poll predictions about Gujarat are concerned, the ABP - AC Nielsen exit poll predicted BJP’s victory in South Gujarat and Congress’ victory in Central Gujarat. South Gujarat: BJP (27), Congress (6), GPP (01) and Others (01). Central Gujarat: Congress (22), BJP (15) and Others (03). It has also predicted a massive victory for the BJP in the Saurashtra-Kutch region. According to the exit poll, BJP will win 42 seats, the Congress will win 11, and the GPP will win only one seat in the region.

Meanwhile, Congress leader Arjun Modhwadia rejected exit poll results and said that it does not reflect ground reality. He also expresses confidence that Congress will perform well and that this would be reflected when the results were made known on 20 December.


Latest News from India News Desk