Shimla: Former Lok Sabha member Suresh Chandel, who was expelled from Lok Sabha in cash-for-query scam, has been named as BJP's candidate from Bilaspur constituency in the upcoming Himachal Pradesh Assembly polls.

Chandel's name figured in the final list of 12 candidates that was released on Wednesday. The party also axed Roop Singh Thakur, a six-time MLA from Sunder Nagar constituency.

While sitting MLA Romesh Dhawala has been fielded from Jwalamukhi constituency, Ravinder Singh Ravi will be party's candidate from Dehra constituency in Kangra district.

Sitting MLAs Capt Atma Ram and Sanjay Chowdhary have been given ticket from Jaisinghpur (SC) and Kangra, while five new faces, including two women Reeta Dhiman from Indora (SC) and Seema Mehta  from Chopal have been named as party candidates.

The BJP has given tickets to 36 sitting MLAs and two sitting associate members Rakesh Verma (Theog) and Hira Lal (Karsog) while two sitting MLAs Khusi Ram Balnatah and Desh Raj did not apply for the ticket.

A total of seven women have been given tickets by the party for the 68-member Assembly. 26 new faces also figure in the list.

Meanwhile the process for November 4 polling was set in motion from today with issuing of notification of the elections and filing of nominations.


Latest News from Himachal Pradesh News desk