After the results were declared on Thursday, incumbent Prime Minister Navinchandra Ramgoolam announced that he was stepping down as he  accepted his defeat against Jugnauth's l'Alliance Lepep party, authorities said.

Ramgoolam was serving his third term as the prime minister since 2005.According to official data, of the total of 62 parliamentary seats, Lepep won 29, whereas Ramgoolam's Labour Party (PTR) won only 10.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted congratulating Jugnauth on his victory. "Just spoke to Mr. Anerood Jugnauth and congratulated him on the victory of his alliance in the Mauritius elections," Modi tweeted.

About one million Mauritians went to the polls conducted Wednesday, Xinhua reported. Jugnauth served as the president from 2003 to 2012, and previously he was the Prime Minister of Mauritius from 1982 to 1995 and again from 2000 to 2003.

Latest News from World News Desk