Facebook said that only a few users out of 1.2 billion on the social networking site use the setting that controls whether their timeline could be found when someone searched their names.

However, even after using the setting the user’s timeline could easily be tracked when he or she is tagged in a friend’s post or picture. Since the privacy setting had loopholes, the removal of the setting does not make much difference.

Users can, however, limit the number of people who can view their posts and pictures by tweaking the settings for each post.

The social network took this step as it is building its search feature used by users to find people they know or want to know on the site.

JPN