The option appears as a 'Hide from your Timeline' checkbox beside the posting button, technology website The Verge reported. When users' check the box, their status update will be posted to the News Feed and will bypass their Timeline.

Currently, the new News Feed-only posting feature is available on Facebook on the Web but not on mobile.

The new feature is not available when users' share a post from their News Feed and they still have the same options to share to their own Timeline, a friend's Timeline or in a group or event. Also, the posts that users' published to the News Feed while hiding from their own Timeline still show up in search.