The militant outfit in a release dated June 4, which was circulated in the media today, claimed that the attack yesterday was a joint operation by it, Meitei outfit Kanglei Yawol Kanna Lup (KYKL) and Kangleipak Communist Party.

Soon after the deadly attack military intelligence received inputs about a heavily KYKL group spotted moving away from the site of the incident. The group was led by self-styled 'lieutenant' Tamba and was heading Thantapin village. The group is believed to have moved eastwards and crossed the international border from somewhere south of T Minou village in Manipur, which is south of the Indo-Myanmar border town of Tamu in Myanmar.

We are listing here some unknown facts about NSCN (Khaplang):

1. NSC (Khaplang) was formed in January 30, 1980, was split into the NSCN (Isak-Muivah) and NSCN (Khaplang) in 1988.

2. NSCN (K) had approximately strength of 1100 at the time of split, The NSCN (K) first split in 2010 into a faction led by Khole and Kitovi Zhimomi. Clannish divisions among the Nagas (Konyaks and Tangkhuls) were the primary reason behind the split of the NSCN in 1988. It under the leadership of the chairman of the outfit S S Khaplang and N Kitovi Zhimomi as the General Secretary.

3. Objective of the NSCN-K is the formation of a ‘greater Nagaland’ comprising of the Naga dominated areas of the neighbouring States within India, and adjoining areas in Myanmar.

4. SS Khaplang, chairman of NSCN (K), is also the chairman of UNLFW, a conglomerate of ULFA (I), NSCN (K), KLO and NDFB (S)
5. UNFLW was formed on April 17, 2015.

6. UNLFW was the group which carried out the May 3 attack in Nagaland which killed 7 jawans of Assam Rifles.

7. UNLFW has its bases in western part of Myanmar bordering India.

8. Khaplang enjoys a suspension of operation agreement with Myanmar, which was signed in 2012.

9. On April 28, the Central Government had cancelled ceasefire pact with NSCN (Khaplang).

Latest News from India News Desk