The seventh lap of the nine-phase elections covers constituencies in seven states, including all seats in Gujarat (26), Telangana (17) and Punjab (13), and 2 Union Territories, with over 1,000 candidates in the fray.

Gandhi's Rae Bareli constituency, which saw Priyanka Gandhi taking up the cudgels on her mother's behalf, Modi's Vadodara constituency, Gandhinagar where Advani is contesting and Singh's Lucknow seat are among those going to polls on Wednesday.

Other prominent leaders in the fray are Union Minister Farooq Abdullah from Srinagar, BJP's Arun Jaitley who is pitted against Congress' Amarinder Singh in Amritsar, Murli Manohar Joshi and Union Coal Minister Sriprakash Jaiswal from Kanpur, JD(U) president Sharad Yadav from Madhepura.

Uma Bharti and Union Minister Pradeep Jain Aditya are contesting from Jhansi, Union Minister Jitin Prasada from Dhaurahra and chairman of National SC Commission PL Punia from Barabanki.

Modi spearheaded the BJP campaign blitzkrieg, attacking Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi on the issue of development, corruption and raking up her son-in-law Robert Vadra's land deals.

Sonia Gandhi and Rahul led the Congress offencive, accusing Modi and BJP of being divisive and communal and against the "very idea of India".

Rahul raked up the issue of Modi's alleged links to Adani group while Priyanka, who is campaigning in Amethi and Rae Bareli, took on BJP for targeting her husband, saying the party was "scurrying like panic-stricken rats".

The 89 Lok Sabha constituencies that will witness polling include 11 in Uttar Pradesh, seven in Bihar, 9 in West Bengal and one each in Jammu and Kashmir, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

As many as 413 candidates in 26 seats are in the fray in Modi's home turf Gujarat, which is witnessing a straight fight between BJP and Congress.

Congress leader Madhusudan Mistry is challenging Modi in Vadodara, while senior leader Shankarsinh Vaghela is contesting from Sabarkantha.

AAP, striving to emerge as the third alternative, has fielded candidates in 24 constituencies.


Latest News from India News Desk