“Polling for 121 Lok Sabha seats, 77 seats for Odisha Assembly & 2 by-elections in WB underway. Urging voters to vote in record numbers,” Modi tweeted.

Voting for 121 Lok Sabha seats spread over 12 states is underway. An electorate of 16.61 crore have the right to exercise their franchise.

Of the total seats, Congress has 36 seats while its main challenger BJP has 40 seats.

Polling is taking place in 28 seats in Karnataka, followed by Rajasthan (20), Maharashtra (19), Uttar Pradesh and Odisha (11 each), Madhya Pradesh (10), Bihar (7), Jharkhand (6), West Bengal (4), Chhattisgarh (3), Jammu and Kashmir and Manipur (1each).


Latest News from India News Desk